# Report of the Chairman on the work of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee

The Members' Code of Conduct Committee has met once since the last Council meeting, on 18 June 2015, and considered the following items of business.

# 1. Independent Person Protocol

- 1.1 The Committee noted the requirements of the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2015 which provided for new simplified arrangements for taking disciplinary action against the Council's Statutory officers, namely: the Head of Paid Service, the Chief Finance (s151) Officer and the Monitoring Officer.
- 1.2 The Committee agreed to recommend to Council that the existing three Independent Persons, (Mr Roger Pett, Mr Tony Allenby and Ms Vivienne Cameron), be appointed to support the Council's Code of Conduct and Statutory Officer procedure rule requirements and that an additional two Independent Persons be appointed under the shared pool arrangement, namely Mr Paul Sherar and Mr David Seymour.
- 1.3 It also agreed to recommend Council to authorise the Monitoring Officer to make consequential amendments to the Employment Procedure Rules within the Constitution.

# 2. Update on complaints against councillors

2.1 The Committee noted a report summarising a number of complaints by one councillor against another councillor which had been received in the run up to the election and which the Monitoring Officer had struck out on the basis that they were politically motivated.

## 3. Work Programme

3.1 The Committee noted the Work Programme for 2015-2016 subject to the addition of a mock scenario training session at the October meeting and asked the Monitoring Officer to provide a training session for all members on the Code of Conduct.

# 4. Training Session

4.1 At the conclusion of the Committee's business, the members received a training session delivered by the Deputy Monitoring Officer on the arrangements and processes for dealing with allegations of misconduct by members under the Members' Code of Conduct.

# **Murray Litvak**

Chairman of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee